today was meant to be such a great day.
i suppose when i think about it, it really was good for the most part.
woke up about 6.30am after my brain started waking up about an hour beforehand..... got started on work for the day.
it was a nice feeling doing work from home, even starting the day in bed checking emails and writing to a builder and a supplier about a couple of jobs i've been quoting up.....
all up it was an extra 6.5 hours that i can claim in next week's invoice, and i'm working monday to thursday next week so that should give me a boost as well...
never mind the ever growing amount of tax i still need to pay lol i'll catch up at some stage
finished a couple of quotes and a bundle of cad shop drawings about 2.30pm.... then had a snooze on the couch for about an hour...
then i called the bacchus marsh mower shop to see if my mower was anywhere near ready for collection but they are waiting on a part to come in, in the mean time they will look for a second hand part that might come up a bit quicker and possibly might get it tomorrow, otherwise it'd be ready on monday for pickup he said... all good...
fired up the bbq and put in a couple of snags, some meat ball things, onions and sliced potatoes.... a fairly decent whack of food for dinner.....
then went out to start watering the gardens as i hadn't watered since monday and it's been warm these last couple of days.... lots of things sprouting, seedlings of broccoli, spring onion, tomato, lettuce, and shoots of things of what i planted straight into the ground like radish, corn, peas, potatoes..... broad beans are starting to form on the biggest of the broad bean seeds i planted.....
and then i looked over to the chook yard and Tails was sitting on the ground under the pergola shelter bit, sorta looked like she was a bit exhausted from heat and was having a dirt bath, so i sprayed a bit of water in her direction, and she didn't move. instantly i knew something was wrong.
given that i've had her almost 2 years, one thing she could never do was trust me to get close to her. i walked over to crouch in front of her on the other side of the chook fence and she didn't move, so i had to see what was happening.
i opened the gate and crawled in, by which stage Black started to get a bit worried and ran into the chook shed... i crawled over to Tails, and i could see straight away that she was not in a good way... i could pick her up and she didn't flinch. few flies were hanging around her backside.... i turned her over a bit and her back side was quite dark and damp....
had to get her out of there onto just a grassed area where it was a bit softer than the ground she was sitting in.....
so i crawled out of there and placed her on a cushy bit of grass and went to get a tray and filled with water in case she was dehydrated...
by this stage jake called me back after i called a few times with no answer - i figured he'd know best what i should do...
i had a look under the feathers on her backside where it was damp and dark and found little white crawlies - mites/lice or something like that....
suggested i get some mite powder onto her whole body but i finished it off a while ago and it was far too late to go down to crossroads shop and get another container.....
nothing more i could do at that point, and i could see she was just going downhill...
so i got off the phone cause i knew what was coming and i didn't want to be on the phone when it happened...
i just sat with her in a position where the shadow of my body was shading her from the sunlight... then just patted her and stroked her feathers, like i always wanted to do but was never able to for the whole time i had her..... i just talked to her, remembering when i first went to catch her with melton paul when the big rooster smacked me hard in the nose when i grabbed her from running past me - she must've been his favourite.
and then thinking about when i first came up with her name after admiring her tail, big, white, bold - like the tail of an a380 standing proud into the sky.
and then i apologised to her for not taking better care of her by powdering her with mite stuff more often to protect her from them... and her eyes were then starting to close
i started to get a bit upset cause i was sad she was dying but also upset about not having done more to help keep her safe and healthy.
and then the part that all bird people know about - their 'last moments' - and i started to just bawl me eyes out, she started to flap her wings heaps - this was it. she was leaving this world.
and then about 10 seconds later she stopped, her neck arched and her eyes sealed shut for the last time.
poor sweetheart.
i know it's just a chicken, an animal, but at the end of the day, when you lose something or someone that you are used to having around, it fucking hurts.
i'm still pretty much close to, if not at the point of, tears just writing about it, but i figure it's just going to help me grieve it out of my system.
my only concern now is that Black is going to hide in her shed and not come out tomorrow morning fearing she is in trouble. whilst she was pretty chatty and stressed when i was sitting with Tails outside the chook yard, she went into her shed and stayed silent for the rest of the time, and she wouldn't reply when i called out to her, i peered in as best as i could and she just looked back at me....
so i'm thinking i'll have to regain her trust again as she might think i've killed Tails intentionally.
Tails had a good spirit about her, her feathers grew beautiful black specks and flecks on her back, she was very strong willed on her own and was happy to roam alone in the yard when i let them both out and even though she still didn't trust me, i still loved her as much as i love Black.
i'm sorry girl, i feel like i let you down, i'm sorry you passed away tonight, but i'm glad i was there to be with you in your final moments.
rest in peace sweetheart.